Which chocolates are certified gluten-free?

The chocolate industry has been established for years now, but gluten-free chocolate is still not mainstream. Though pure chocolate is considered gluten-free, many chocolate products contain added ingredients like emulsifiers and flavoring that have gluten.

Even if a chocolate product doesn’t contain gluten, it may be processed in a factory that also produces gluten-containing food. If you have coeliac disease or you’re super sensitive to gluten, make sure the label says gluten-free to be sure there is no risk of a reaction.

Which chocolates are gluten-free?

Beyond Good Dark Chocolate Bars

Beyond Good Chocolate Bars | Variety 3 Pack Madagascar Chocolate | Organic, Direct Trade, Vegan, Kosher, Non-GMO | Single Origin Madagascar Heirloom ChocolateCheck it out on Amazon

These 80% pure dark chocolate bars are made from single origin Madagascar chocolate. I’ve heard of single origin coffee beans but haven’t come across single origin chocolate up til now.

Besides being organic, gluten-free, soy-free and vegan, it’s also certified direct trade and eco-friendly – the cacao beans are sourced directly from sustainable cocoa farmers in Madagascar. You can’t ask for more from a bar of chocolate.

Raaka Gourmet Dark Chocolate

Raaka Chocolate Best Sellers Trio | Gourmet Dark Chocolate Gift| Organic, Vegan, Fair Trade, Soy Free, Non-GMO, Gluten Free, Kosher | 1.8oz Bars, 3-PackCheck it out on Amazon

Raaka, a gourmet chocolate brand from Dominican Republic, has a variety of dark chocolate bars to choose from. However, they are famous for their Bourbon Cask Aged, Pink Sea Salt and Coconut Milk bars. Their Honey Mama bar is also pretty popular.

These chocolate bars are made from unroasted cacao that are ethically sourced, single-origin, fair-trade, non-GMO, organic, vegan, and gluten-free.

Raaka Chocolate Best Sellers Trio | Gourmet Dark Chocolate Gift| Organic, Vegan, Fair Trade, Soy Free, Non-GMO, Gluten Free, Kosher | 1.8oz Bars, 3-PackCheck it out on Amazon

Their ingredient list is pretty clean –  organic cacao beans, organic cane or maple sugar, and organic cacao butter.

The only issue? It’s low sugar and a tad bit bitter compared to the bad chocolate we are all used to.

Hu Dark Chocolate Bars

Hu Dark Chocolate Bars | Natural Organic Vegan Chocolate, Gluten Free, Paleo, Non GMO, Fair Trade Dark Chocolate (Variety, 8 pack)Check it out on Amazon

Hu chocolate is paleo, vegan, organic gluten-free and contains no dairy, no soy, no emulsifiers and no refined sugar.

Instead, they use only organic house-ground cacao beans, fair-trade cocoa butter and organic unrefined coconut sugar. It’s definitely one of the cleanest chocolate bars with the shortest ingredient list I’ve seen.

Endangered Species Chocolate Bars

Endangered Species Oat Milk Dark Chocolate Bars - Gluten Free - 3 Flavor Variety (1) Each: Mixed Berries, Coconut Almonds, Sea Salt (3 Ounces) Plus Recipe Booklet BundleCheck it out on Amazon

Endangered Species has such a mouth-watering collection of chocolate bars, I don’t even know where to start!

They only use clean natural ingrediets, non-GMO chocolate. These made-in-America yummies are vegan and gluten-free but contain soy and nuts. 10% of net profits are donated anually to their 10% giveback partners.

Check out the full range here.

Milkboy Swiss Chocolate Bars

Milkboy Swiss Gourmet Chocolate Bars - Milk Chocolate Bars - Dark Chocolate - White Chocolate Bar - Premium Handmade Chocolate Variety - Kosher - GMO Free - 5 PackCheck it out on Amazon

Craving for Swiss chocolate? These gluten-free gourmet bars are made from the finest alpine milk and is silky smooth.

Milkboy only uses natural ingredients and their chocolate range is soy-free, non-GMO, gluten-free and has no artificial flavoring.

Nature’s Intent Keto Chocolate and Nut Bombs

Keto Chocolate and Nut Bombs by Nature's Intent - Combination of Sugar-Free Dark Chocolate, Roasted Almonds, Almond Butter, Coconut, Pecans and MCT Oil - Healthy Gluten Free and Keto Friendly SnacksCheck it out on Amazon

These keto chocolate bombs are not only gluten-free, they are also sugar-free, keto-friendly and contain protein powder.

These are all boutique chocolate brands but what about our crowd favorites? Are they gluten-free? Let’s do a little sleuthing on some famous chocolates:

Are Cadbury chocolates gluten-free?

Cadbury has a whole range of every possible chocolate combination under the sun. Whether or not Cadbury chocolate is ‘healthy’ is a debate for another day. Some of their chocolate products don’t contain gluten while others do. But they are all produced on the same machinery and therefore might contain traces of gluten.

One thing is for sure, Cadbury chocolates are not certified gluten-free. If you are merely trying to live a gluten-free lifestlye, you are fine to go for a chocolate bar but if you have coeliac disease, I would avoid Cadburies.

CADBURY DAIRY MILK Milk Chocolate Candy, Valentine's Day, 3.5 oz, Bar (14 ct)Check it out on Amazon

Is Godiva chocolate gluten-free?

Some Godiva chocolate products don’t contain gluten. However, Godiva chocolates are not certified gluten-free. In fact, the Godiva brand advised that people with gluten allergies should not consume their chocolates.

These Godiva chocolates don’t list gluten-containing ingredients but it might contain traces of gluten:

Godivas Belgium Goldmark Assorted chocolate 10.9 OZCheck it out on Amazon

Are Lindt chocolates gluten-free?

It’s a shame that coeliacs have to miss out on Lindt chocolate balls but Lindt doesn’t declare any of their products as gluten-free. Some of their products even contain barley malt extract (gluten) and this is clearly stated on the label.

Lindt chocolates that don’t contain gluten are manufactured in the same production line and area as ones that do and therefore is at risk of cross-contamination.

Lindt pistachio balls are my absolute favorite but they contain gluten:

Lindt Lindor Pistachio Chocolate Truffles 200 g / 7.2 ozCheck it out on Amazon

Are Guylian chocolates gluten-free?

Some Guylian chocolates don’t contain gluten but ones like Guylian Master’s Selection and Opus do.

While most Guylian chocolates don’t contain gluten ingredients, it may contain traces of gluten and is definitely not certified gluten-free.

Are Ferrero Rochers gluten-free?

No, Ferrero Rocher chocolates contain wheat flour which is a source of gluten.

Is Toblerone chocolate gluten-free?

Toblerone Swiss Chocolate doesn’t contain gluten but the company makes no claims that it is gluten-free.

Toblerone Swiss Milk Chocolate with Honey & Almond Nougat, Christmas Chocolate Gift Stocking Stuffers, 24 - 1.76 oz BarsCheck it out on Amazon

Are M&Ms gluten-free?

Yummy M&Ms don’t contain sources of gluten but are not certified gluten-free. They do contain lots of other chemicals and colorings and are considered junk food.

M&M's Milk Chocolate Candies 3Lb 14oz Jar LimitedCheck it out on Amazon

Are Hershey Kisses gluten-free?

Hersheys are amazing! They are the only big chocolate brand I found that actually has certified gluten-free chocolate products.

Not all Hershey Kisses are gluten-free but they have 88 types of Hershey Kisses that are certified gluten-free!

HERSHEY'S KISSES Milk Chocolate Candy, Holiday, 35.8 oz Party Bag

Check it out on Amazon

To wrap up

It’s sad that most of the major chocolate brands don’t make certified gluten-free chocolates. Fortunately, many boutique brands make not only gluten-free, but yummier, cleaner chocolate with healthier ingredients.

Bring the chocolate wars on!

Check out these super easy gluten-free desserts.

2 thoughts on “Which chocolates are certified gluten-free?”

  1. Pingback: 15 easy and healthy gluten-free snack ideas

  2. Pingback: Extremely easy gluten-free desert recipes - Madame Well

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *